GSMA Announces Open Call For Entries for 16th Annual Global Mobile Awards

The GSMA today announced that the Global Mobile Awards 2011 are now open for entry. The Global Mobile Awards, which recognise excellence, achievement and innovation within the mobile communications industry, will be presented at the Mobile World Congress in Barcelona on Tuesday 15th February 2011. Award winners will also be acknowledged at the Mobile World Congress celebration party to be held that evening.

“The Global Mobile Awards celebrate the very best achievements in mobile communications, an industry that continues to innovate, surprise and defy boundaries,” said Michael O’Hara, Chief Marketing Officer at the GSMA. “Now in our 16th year, we have introduced new awards to reflect emerging trends such as the proliferation of applications and the rise of connected devices in sectors such as health, transport, utilities and consumer electronics. The Global Mobile Awards continue to recognise the talent and diversity that exists across the entire mobile ecosystem and we wish all those taking part the best of luck.”

The GSMA has launched additional awards for 2011 to address new developments in the mobile industry, and has also revised the entry and judging process for select awards. A new category, ‘Global Mobile App Awards’, has been introduced and will be divided into two sub-categories: ‘Apps of the Year’, with five awards determined by user choice and statistical analysis*; and a ‘Judges’ Choice – Best App’ award, with the winner selected by a panel of independent experts. Nominations for the ‘Best Mobile Handset/Device’ and ‘Mobile Device Manufacturer of the Year’ will also be chosen by a panel of industry experts rather than through the traditional online entry process, with the aim of accurately reflecting global market trends in device innovation and leadership.

The GSMA has also restructured a number of categories to reflect the broad and always evolving mobile communications industry. The ‘Best Technology’ category has been expanded with new awards including ‘Best Mobile Broadband Technology’ and ‘Best Mobile Technology for Emerging Markets’, and the ‘Mobile Innovation’ category will honour mobile products and services with individual awards aimed at vertical sectors such as health, education, transport and utilities, as well as an award for the best new and innovative connected device available within these sectors.

In total, 26 awards will be presented under the following categories:

* Global Mobile App Awards
* Mobile Advertising and Marketing
* Best Mobile Business and Enterprise
* Social and Economic Development
* Mobile Innovation
* Green Mobile Award
* Best Mobile Devices
* Best Technology
* Outstanding Achievement Awards

The Global Mobile Awards 2011 can be entered online at and nominations close on Monday 22nd November 2010. Entries are open to companies across the entire mobile ecosystem. For a full list of categories, deadlines and award criteria please visit:

The awards will be judged by a panel of independent experts, analysts, journalists, academics and, in some cases, mobile operator representatives, and the GSMA will announce the shortlist of nominations for each category in mid January 2011.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.